Book-It Repertory Theatre

Book-It Repertory Theatre's mission is to transform great literature into great theatre through simple and sensitive production and to inspire our audiences to read. Book-It's Arts & Education Program mission is to provide an interactive relationship between youth and literature through diverse theatrical productions and educational programs that promote the joy of reading, enhance student and teacher learning, and inspire the imagination.

Show All
Share our page on: Share to Facebook Share to Twitter
Address: 305 Harrison St
Seattle, WA 98109-4623
Phone Number: 206-216-0877
EIN: 91-1514734
Book-It began as an artists' collective in 1987 dedicated to narrative theatre,adapting short stories for performance and touring throughout the Northwest. From its origins as a dedicated group of volunteer artists, the company has matured into an innovative professional performing arts organization with a budget of $1.7 million, a home at the Center Theatre on the Seattle Center campus, a staff of 11, and a flourishing Arts & Education program. Book-It creates world-premiere adaptations of classic and contemporary literature for the stage, preserving the narrative text as it is written, spoken not by a single narrator but as dialogue by the characters in the production. This technique was developed and continues to be honed by Book-It artists led by Founding Co-Artistic Directors Jane Jones and Myra Platt.  Performing books instead of plays allows the Book-It theatre experience to spark the audience's interest in reading and to challenge the audience to participate by using their imaginations. Book-It's unique style of acting and adapting books is known as the Book-It Style®.
Board of Directors: Larry Pihl (President), Stephen Robinson (Vice President), Stuart Frank (Secretary), John Aldaya (Treasurer), Monica Alquist, Mark Boyd, Linda Brown, Laura Colman, Anne Fisher Ravens, Craig Greene, Jane Jones, Margaret Kineke, Mary Metastasio, Shyla Miller, Chrisopher Mumaw (Intern), Myra Platt, Shirley Roberson, Steve Schwartzman, Earl Sedlik, Christine Stepherson, Lordia Williams
Honorary Board: Sonya Campion, Beth McCaw, Ann Ramsey-Jenkins, Tom Robbins, Garth Stein